Grand Prix motorcycle racing, also known as MotoGP, boasts some of the best riders in the world since its establishment in 1949. This article looks at some of the best riders in the history of the championship that is sanctioned by Fédération Internationale de Motocyclisme (FIM).

1. Giacomo Agostini – 122 Wins

Popularly known as Ago, Giacomo Agostini is the best rider in the history of MotoGP. The 77-year old Italian bagged a staggering 122 Grand Prix wins in his remarkable career, garnering a total of 15 World Championship titles. Named an FIM Legend, Agostini rode for MV Agusta, Yamaha, and Suzuki. Besides MotoGP, the legendary rider also featured in the Isle of Man TT, where he registered 10 wins.

2. Valentino Rossi – 115 Wins

While Schumacher and Hamilton dominate Formula One, Rossi is the undisputed king of MotoGP. The Italian has 115 Grand Prix wins, making him second in this list of the best MotoGP riders, but in the 500cc category, he is the best, outshining Agostini. The ex-Honda and Ducati rider, who is currently with Yamaha, has 9 Grand Prix World Championships and is the only rider with 400+ Grand Prix appearances.

3. Angel Nieto – 90 Wins

Even though the Spanish rider majored in small-displacement bikes, his 90 Grand Prix wins, and 13 World Championships still makes him the third-best MotoGP rider in the history of the competition. Also an FIM Legend, Nieto owned and operated a Grand Prix motorcycle racing team, and even won a title.

4. Mike Hailwood – 76 Wins

At number four is the late Mike Hailwood, nicknamed “Mike The Bike” who interestingly, participated in both the motorcycle and car racing Grand Prix. The British rider registered 76 Grand Prix wins, with 37 from the 500cc category. Making his debut in the Grand Prix at the 1963 British Grand Prix, Mike also featured in several other motorcycle races, including the Isle of Man TT.

5. Jorge Lorenzo – 60 Wins

Currently racing with Movistar Yamaha, Jorge Lorenzo is among the best riders in this generation. At 28 years, the Spaniard boasts 60 Grand Prix wins, and still has several years to bag more.

The above are the most successful MotoGP riders in the history of the competition. While Agostini leads the pack, Rossi still has time to beat his record and become the best rider of all time. Lorenzo can also climb up the ranks to oust Mike Hailwood from fourth place.